PSI makes two awards each year to practicing statisticians and elects honorary members on an occasional basis.We also work with universities to recognise excellent students of statistics.

The PSI/RSS Award for statistics in the pharmaceutical industry

Since 2011, PSI and the Royal Statistical Society have awarded a prize each year for the most influential example of the application of an existing statistical practice, or the implementation of an innovative statistical practice, in the pharmaceutical industry. Further details are available via our Statistical Excellence in the Pharmaceutical Industry Award page, or on the RSS website.

The Mick Godley Award

PSI relies on volunteers to organise and run all of its activities. Since 2003 the Board of Directors have recognised the unsung heroes of PSI through the annual Mick Godley Award. The late Mick Godley was an Honorary Member of PSI and he will always be remembered for his enthusiasm for, and commitment to, the health and growth of PSI as an organisation. Along with this recognition, each recipient wins a free place at an annual PSI Conference.

Rising Star Award

The Rising Star Award was introduced in 2023 to recognise those volunteers early in their careers (<10 years pharma experience) who were making an impact in PSI. The “ones to watch” in the PSI space, the award aims to congratulate and encourage them to continue their involvement with the organisation. Along with this recognition, each recipient wins a free one-day pass at the next annual PSI conference, with the aim of sharing their contributions to date and inspiring the next generation in their PSI journey.

Honorary membership

The society occasionally recognises long and outstanding contributions to the society by awarding honorary membership.  It is the highest award PSI can bestow and recognises outstanding service on behalf of PSI and its membership sustained over many years.

YearPSI/RSS award Mick Godley AwardHonorary membership Rising Star Award
2024Nicky Best, Andrea Callegaro, Brigitte Cheuvart, Cui Xiong, Dawn Edwards and Jodie Crawford (GSK)Priya Gokani Sophie Greenwood & Ellie Grainger
2023Dr Satrajit RoychoudhuryClaire BrittainNigel HowittTom Burnett
2022Marcel Wolbers, Alessandro Noci, Paul Delmar, Craig Gower-Page, Sean Yiu (of Roche) and Jonathan W. Bartlett (of the University of Bath) Emma Crawford  
2021Lisa HampsonLyn TaylorRay Harris 
2020Sandeep Menon David Lawrence   
2019Graeme Archer, Jacquie Christie & Mike Smith   Chrissie Fletcher  
2018Mouna Akacha & Simon BateAmanda Darekar & Ingrid Franklin  
2017Michael O'KellyPaul Terrill  
2016Richard NixonAaron Dane Lesley France 
2015Nicky Best & Katrina Gore
Axel Krebs-Brown
2014Craig MallinckrodtIan Hirsch
2013Björn BornkampSally Anderton  
2012Harry SouthworthRebecca SudlowAlan Phillips 
2011Phil WoodwardRachel Moate  
2010 Mike AylottJames Roger 
2009 Florence Le Maulf  
2008 Kerry Dillingham  
2007 Robert ToorawaStephen Senn 
2006 Ann Cleverly  
2005 Sharon Laing  
2004 Jo Michael  
2003 Emma Simmons  

Honorary members awarded before 2003: Jorgen Seldrup, Mick Godley, Andy Grieve, David Morgan, Alan Ebbutt, John Lewis

PSI Schools - Outreach Champions Challenge Cup

This scheme will aim to recognise PSI members who have made exceptional outreach contributions throughout the year. Each time you complete an outreach activity within a School, submit an activity completion form. We will determine the total number of activities you submit at the end of each month, and if you make it into the top champions (based on the highest number of activities submitted to date), you’ll find yourself displayed on the leaderboard!

The scheme will close on 31st May 2024. At PSI Conference 2024 we will announce the top 10 individual members who completed the highest number of outreach activities during the academic year, who will receive a certificate as well as the winner, who will win a £50 voucher of their choice and £250 STEM grant for a participating school.

Click here to find out how you can get involved!


University prize awards

Each academic year, PSI awards between 10 to 15 prizes of £100 each to university students who have excelled in their BSc or MSc with mathematical and statistical content. In previous years, these prizes have been awarded to those attaining the highest overall grade for the year, or the highest grade of dissertation for example. Any University running a relevant BSc or MSc course is invited to apply for a prize; once awarded, the university can choose a suitable recipient and the prize is given in the Summer (for BSc courses) or Autumn (for MSc courses).  

Upcoming Events

Latest Jobs